Welcome to
The Simon Foundation for Continence's
Innovating for Continence
Conference Series

2011 Innovating for Continence - Honorary President

Dr. Christopher Payne

The Honorary President for our 2011 conference meeting is Christopher Payne, MD, FACS, Professor of Urology at Stanford School of Medicine and Director of Female Urology and Neurourology at Stanford. Dr. Payne is nationally recognized as a leader on issues in female urology having served on NIH advisory panels on urinary incontinence and interstitial cystitis. Dr. Payne was a member of the panel which defined bladder research priorities for the 21st century at a meeting sponsored by the Office of Women’s Health Research. He is a current member of the medical advisory board for the Interstitial Cystitis Association. Dr. Payne has published numerous articles and book chapters on urinary incontinence and surgical reconstruction. His expertise in clinical research has been recognized through two NIH principal investigator grants focusing on treatment of interstitial cystitis. In 2008 he served as Chair of the Research Methodology subcommittee for the World Health Organization’s International Consultation on Incontinence. Dr. Payne’s practice is concentrated in three areas: surgical treatment of urinary incontinence and pelvic prolapse, clinical trials in interstitial cystitis and urinary incontinence, and urodynamic evaluation of complex bladder dysfunction.

Dr. Payne follows in the footsteps of Mr. Ray Laborie, founder of Laborie Medical Technologies (2007 Honorary President) and Mr. Al Herbert, CEO of Hollister Incorporated (2009 Honorary President).